Marietta, OH - The Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) is beginning the process of switching 5 protected-only left turn signals at 3 intersections in Athens, Washington and Gallia counties due to the changes in federal regulations.
     Currently, as motorists approach a designated left turn lane, the signal transitions from a green arrow to a yellow arrow, and then to a solid red circle. The new signal will transition from a green arrow to a yellow arrow and then to a red arrow. Drivers CANNOT turn on red arrows.
     Installation of the new red arrows will take place statewide as older versions are scheduled for routine replacement at a cost of about $26 per signal.
     The change is part of the 2009 Federal Highway Manual Uniform of Traffic Control Devices which requires “protected-only” left turn signals to have red arrows replace all circular red indicators. The purpose of the change is to enhance uniformity and eliminate “left turn signal” signs.
     ODOT began installing the red arrows on April 12 as part of its annual systematic signal improvement program.